Home The Book Dr Articles Products Message Boards Journal Articles Search Our Surveys Surgery ESWT Dr Messages Find Good Drs video

What is happening to the bottom of my foot?

Posted by Donna G on 2/07/05 at 20:37 (168724)

I have been taping my foot for about 3 months. It is the first relief that I have had in a long time. I thought I had finally found the solution to my pf problem. Now the skin on the bottom of my foot is getting circular spots (about the size of a quarter) that turn white and the skin peels off. I presently have 3 of these on my foot. One in the center of the heel, one on the outer edge of the ball of my foot, and one in the center of the arch. They are sore, but don't itch. Is this a reaction to keeping my foot taped? Is there any tape that won't cause this? Thank you for your help.

Re: What is happening to the bottom of my foot?

Julie on 2/08/05 at 02:41 (168730)

Donna, what tape are you using? The medical quality tapes are of course easier on the skin than the cheaper industrial tapes. I used Leuko tape for a year or so, and never had problems with it.

The peeling-off of the skin does sound like a reaction, but it might not necessarily be to the tape itself. How long do you leave the tape on? You really should remove it every night to let the skin breathe. If it's left on for several days, and gets wet, the skin can soften and degenerate. The 'white spots' could be due to that - the skin getting wet under the tape and not getting a chance to dry out.

Finally, are you pulling the tape off too quickly, and/or in the wrong direction? Either can take bits of skin with it. Peel it back slowly and carefully, from the ball of the foot to the heel.

So to summarise:

Rest from taping until the skin heals
Switch to a better quality tape: Leuko tape is recommended.
Remove the tape every night and reapply the next morning.
Peel slowly towards the heel.

I hope this is helpful.

Donna G on 2/08/05 at 07:56 (168737)