Home The Book Dr Articles Products Message Boards Journal Articles Search Our Surveys Surgery ESWT Dr Messages Find Good Drs video

foot/knee/hip/back pain

Posted by ian k. on 2/26/05 at 15:24 (169960)

To Whom it may concern, for the last several years I have been experiencing extreme pain in all the above areas, consistently on my left side. Doctors have done a bone scan - came back fine; blood work-same etc. ( I have even been told to lose weight and I am not that big!) I am running out of ideas when I heard that it could be related to a foot problem. Your opinion would be most helpful.Should I go and see a foot doctor? Any further info needed to evaluate my question just ask. Sincerely Ian

Re: foot/knee/hip/back pain

Fed Up Also on 2/26/05 at 17:22 (169971)

GO TO A PODIATRIST AND TAKE YOUR CHECK BOOK, VISA CARD AND TAKE OUT A SECOND MORTGAGE...........

Mike W on 2/27/05 at 11:27 (170029)

Hello Ian,

I am not a doctor but have lots of expeince with physical therapy.

The sciatic nerve involves the lower back, hips, legs and feet.

If your quad muscles are tight they could pull on your hip which could in turn pull on your lower back. They could also pull on your knee and place stress their as well. Tight calf muscles can affect the mechanics of your ankle and feet. So I guess my point is that they are all connected and if one or more is out it can affect the others.

If you want some more info on good non weight bearing exercises please check out my website http://www.foottrainer.com . You should also check out yoga stretches as well.

Regards,

Mike W

Julie on 2/27/05 at 11:55 (170035)

Ian, the feet, knees, hips and lower back are a continuum: anything that affects any of the structures, such as tight quadriceps or hamstrings or calves along that continuum will affect the others.