Home The Book Dr Articles Products Message Boards Journal Articles Search Our Surveys Surgery ESWT Dr Messages Find Good Drs video

Alternative to Birkenstocks??

Posted by Cindy J. on 3/05/05 at 13:22 (170522)

I have been lurking here for about a month and am impressed with this site and the helpful advice I have seen. I am an ER nurse and devoloped PF about 1 1/2 years ago. I believe the contributing factors were 1.) Waiting too long to replace a pair of worn work shoes and 2.) Doing the jumping aerobics at home barefoot. Regardless, I have been wearing inserts (Spenco, HTP heel seats) and the PF is slowly improving. I now have no pain in my left heel but still problems with the right. I don't consider my PF nearly as severe as some of you, but would like to address it before it worsens.

I love to wear sandals all summer, but I realize my heels were worse during the summer from the type of sandals I was wearing. Since inserts won't work well in sandals, I have dedided to bite the bullet and purchase Birkenstocks, if necessary. However, I wanted to know if there is a quality sandal out there that is not quite as expensive.

Re: Alternative to Birkenstocks??

Linda V. on 3/05/05 at 13:53 (170523)

Hi. Nurse here also. And I think my PF started with a lot of the same reasons as yours. I have a pair of sandal by Rockport, named Genoa II, that I can wear for up to 4 hours without problems. We are all different, but I just couldn't tolerate Birks. Good luck!

Cindy J. on 3/05/05 at 16:31 (170534)

Linda V. Thanks for the suggestion. I'm curious why you couldn't tolerate the Birkenstocks. And how bad is your PF?

Linda V. on 3/06/05 at 09:41 (170562)

For me, the Birks were too hard and unforgiving. Yet, I can tolerate a pretty rigid cork over leather orthotic. Go figure.