Home The Book Dr Articles Products Message Boards Journal Articles Search Our Surveys Surgery ESWT Dr Messages Find Good Drs video

considering epf surgery

Posted by Jim on 3/06/05 at 14:59 (170574)

I have PF for two years in my left foot. Fascia and heel cord are so tight I cannot bend my foot beyond the neutral position. The fascia is so thickened that my left leg is now longer than my rignt. I've read this website many times over the past year. I've tried every posible treatment including ESWT twice $$$. Currently, I stretch my calfs twice daily using heat first, then taping very, very aggressively to protect the fascia. The taping and heat allow me to feel the calf trying to stretch. I've been stretching this way for six months and have seen very little improvement. I use a walker since I cannot bend my ankle beyond the neutral position. I only attempt to to stretch the fascia itself after using heat and very mild stretching. I feel the only answer at this point is to cut the fascia, but that would not solve the problem of tight calf muscel. Any advise would be very welcome.

Re: considering epf surgery

Julie on 3/06/05 at 15:16 (170575)

Jim

I don't think that EPF is the answer for you. For one thing, it has a poor rate of success (although some people here have reported success) and the doctors who post here seem now to hold it in disfavour.

In any case, cutting the fascia would do nothing to lengthen your very tight calf muscles. There is, though, a procedure called the gastroc slide, in which the gastrocnemius muscle (the main calf muscle) is lengthened. Use the search facility on this site: there are some posts there that will fill you in.

And post a question about it, with your details, on the Ask the Doctors board. I am only guessing, but it sounds to me as though this procedure might be helpful, and one of the doctors may be able to confirm that and steer you in the right direction.

SteveG on 3/06/05 at 17:06 (170584)