Home The Book Dr Articles Products Message Boards Journal Articles Search Our Surveys Surgery ESWT Dr Messages Find Good Drs video

plantar fascitis for 5 MONTHS! Please help!

Posted by Melita on 3/12/05 at 00:24 (170995)

I have had plantar fascitis for 5 months now and I've tried just about everything I can. Ive tried taping, seeing a podiatrist several times, massaging,icing the injured area, taking tissue salts and MSM (Methylsulfonylmethane) for internal healing, eating pineapple for the natural enzyme in it to reduce inflamation, and I already wear orthodics.....I'm lost for what else to do.

Is MSM of any benefit or am I wasting my time and money?
Is massaging to stimulate blood flow to the area of any benefit?

I am a school teacher where I do a lot of standing on my feet. I'm 23 years old, 58kg and 168cm tall. This injury is really starting to affect my job, my social life, as I fear going out as might further injure the foot or make the pain worse. It also interferes with my sports gym training and my modelling work. I just want to resume my old life again as 5 months of this injury has been getting me down. I feel like an old lady!!!

Please help.
Melita

Re: plantar fascitis for 5 MONTHS! Please help!

Julie on 3/12/05 at 02:45 (170998)

I'm not a doctor, but as you probably have realised, your work, which demands that you be on your feet much of the day, isn't helping. It's a common problem for teachers.

What you haven't mentioned is your shoes. What shoes are you wearing? You need a good quality shoe that supports your feet and cushions them. Many people have been helped by Birkenstocks. The floor surface you work on is also a factor.