Home The Book Dr Articles Products Message Boards Journal Articles Search Our Surveys Surgery ESWT Dr Messages Find Good Drs video

plantar fasciitis

Posted by Remi on 5/17/05 at 23:08 (175224)

Is operation the best cure for PLANTAR FASCIITIS?.If it by how many persentage?.

Re: plantar fasciitis

Karen on 5/18/05 at 12:50 (175248)

I am not a doctor. In my case they told me my problem was not surgerical & to try all conservative treatments first. I have done taping and custom orthotics which 'cured' me the first time (it took about 2 years). The second time (2 years later) with PF has been more difficult. I have had shots, a cast, physical therapy, iontoferecsis, taping, rest. The Dr. told me to wait a year before a year before considering surgery. After a year, another Dr. told me I was not a canidate for surgery, silly me, I didn't ask why, but I am flat footed and 50 years old and my guess is they don't have good surgical results. I guess it depends on your case.
Karen

Ron on 5/18/05 at 13:09 (175251)

I'm no doctor, but what I've read on PF it looks operating on the foot for this should be your last option. For some people it's their only hope and that's understandable. You should try some of the other conservative approaches before going under the knife:

Stretching
Orthotics
losing weight (if applicable)
ESWT
ART
Massage
Excercise

From reading about the treatment of PF with an operation, there is a risk that the condition can get worse; that is, any complications might become irreversable.

Almost universally, Doctor's believe that tightness in the lower extremeties is the cause of PF. So, stretching is usually prescribed first. When that fails then other methods are tried until you have no choice but to get operated on.

john king on 5/18/05 at 16:01 (175263)

Does not PF surgery work best for those with first step pain? If you whole foot hurts does that make you a bad candidate for surgery?

Ron on 5/18/05 at 17:23 (175276)