Home The Book Dr Articles Products Message Boards Journal Articles Search Our Surveys Surgery ESWT Dr Messages Find Good Drs video

Heel pain

Posted by soccer mom on 5/18/05 at 08:02 (175230)

I noticed recently I began getting heel pain after playing soccer. It disappeared after playing indoor soccer season and then when I started playing outdoor soccer, it came back.
I work out at the gym before playing my game. I am over 40 and in reasonable good shape.

Is there any kind of padding or wrap I can use to put inside my soccer shoes?

Re: Heel pain

Robert J. Sanfilippo, DC, CCSP, ART on 5/18/05 at 08:44 (175232)

As we get older we lose our overall flexibility. I'd first look at the flexibility of your legs, particularly the gastrocnemius complex and the hamstrings. If these muscle groups are tight they will cause a cascade of problems in the foot, more than likely PF. So try warming up before the game for a few minutes, then lightly stretch your hamstrings and calf muscles. To retain flexibility, throughout the day you should perform multiple light stretches.

As far as your shoes, make sure they fit you properly. If you are to put padding in one of your shoes please make sure you put it in both. In one shoe will cause you to be imbalanced and can have negative ramifications on your low back.

Re: Heel pain

Dr. David S. Wander on 5/19/05 at 18:33 (175335)