Home The Book Dr Articles Products Message Boards Journal Articles Search Our Surveys Surgery ESWT Dr Messages Find Good Drs video

heel spur mess

Posted by Sandi J on 6/26/05 at 08:57 (177331)

I first had foot surgery on my left foot three years ago foa a heel spur. After returning to doctor many times- I was stillin a great deal of pain. The doc gave me cortizone shots and sent me to therapy- which really hurt! Finally, after being back to work almost a year (and leaving at the end of the day on the verge of tears), I sought another doctor's opinion instaed of getting yet another cortizone shot. The new doc did an x-ray and found that the bone spur had been removed but that a piece of the bone was still in my foot. So I had been walking around (I am a cook), for almost a year on a piece of broken bone. Since then, I have had three more surgeries on the same foot. One to remove the bone fragment, one for tarsal tunnel syndrome, and this last (June 1st) to actually sever the nerve which had a neuroma. This is all in the last three years! I have lost considerable time out of work(more than 18 months) and am in recovery now again. Hopefully this time will be it but who knows?

Re: heel spur mess

KW on 6/26/05 at 14:34 (177338)

I am hopeful for a full recovery. Will keep you in my thoughts & prayers.

Ron (The Real Ron ;-) on 6/27/05 at 19:58 (177390)

I am so sorry to hear about your problems you've experienced over the past three years. I hope things get better.

The more I read about horror stories such as yours the more I realize my feet problems aren't that bad, and I also get quite scared and work extra hard to solve my feet problems as soon as possible. This is really no joking matter. I never took it quite that seriously until I got on the internet, and especially on this site.

Good luck!

Ed Davis, DPM on 6/28/05 at 00:23 (177398)

Sandi: