Home The Book Dr Articles Products Message Boards Journal Articles Search Our Surveys Surgery ESWT Dr Messages Find Good Drs video

gastric recession

Posted by Dave R on 6/28/05 at 07:40 (177405)

Its been one one since I had a gastric recession done on my right foot for heel pain. I have had heel pain for 8 years. i lost the job I loved because of it and most of my sanity. I have had eswt done twice and had a open plantar fasciotomy twice. At last, finally I can walk around all day long without any trouble. If anyone is thinking about having heel spur surgery to lengthen the plantar fascia i have to say make sure that you have a good doctor...In my case they didnt help that much. I did get some relief from it but not enough. My doctor that perform the gastric recession on my right achilles did a great job and I am very happy with the results. I have been doing great for 5 months, I just bought a new house with three acres and I can finally walk my dogs around.
My case of pf was extremely bad. I wasnt able to walk more than 100 yards without wanting to sit down. Sometimes even crawling to the bathroom. There is alot of talk on this board about plantar fasciosis. I can tell you that yes I still have some of that but its getting better all the time. Im unsure why.
I have been on and off this board for years and with the advice of Dr. Ed and Dr.W i was able to locate a good doctor that performs this type of surgery. All I have to say is thank you, thank you, thank you...

Re: gastric recession

Ralph on 6/28/05 at 11:41 (177421)

Dave,
How did your doctor determine that gastric recession would help you when the other surgeries for P.F. didn't? Also mind telling us the surgeon you used. How long were you layed up after the gastric recession and do you notice any weakness? Someone posted they had weakness in their calf following this surgery. Sounds like you are on your way to a full recovery. Thanks.

Norm on 6/28/05 at 14:02 (177432)

What is gastric recession?