Home The Book Dr Articles Products Message Boards Journal Articles Search Our Surveys Surgery ESWT Dr Messages Find Good Drs video

To Elyse

Posted by Ralph on 7/01/05 at 14:43 (177661)

Good for you Elyse by now you recognize the fork in the path and which one not to go down.

I'm not an expert in ESWT but it's my understanding that the only machine FDA approved to treat Chronic Lateral Epicondylatis, which is commonly called tennis elbow, is the Ossation Machine.

Here is an article that states this. I just surfed the web and found it.

HealthTronics OssaTron Receives FDA Approval to Treat Chronic Lateral Epicondylitis - Tennis
2003-03-18 HealthTronics Surgical Services, Inc. announced that the US Food and Drug Administration has approved its high energy OssaTron(R) orthopaedic shock wave device for the treatment of chronic lateral epicondylitis (also known as tennis elbow).

The OssaTron is the only high-energy orthopaedic shock wave device approved for one time treatment of epicondylitis. The OssaTron already is approved for treatment of plantar fasciitis (heel pain) and now becomes the only such device approved for multiple indications.

The FDA approved the device based on the results of a 225 patient multi-center, randomized, placebo-controlled, double-blinded study. The comparison of results between active treatment patients and placebo-treated patients was highly significant according to the statistical analyses. In fact, 90% of treated patients received a benefit from the treatment and 64% had an excellent or good outcome.

Epicondylitis is most often associated with overuse of the arm in a wide variety of activities associated with work and play. Traditionally, the only alternative for patients who did not respond to conservative non-surgical treatment was an invasive surgical procedure. These procedures typically have extended recovery times and may be associated with significant complications and poor outcomes.